FCC Nominations Approved

Posted on November 5th, 2013 by

The U.S. Senate has voted to confirm the appointment of Tom Wheeler as FCC Chairman, and Michael O’Reilly as a Commissioner.  They will be sworn in shortly, and after several months, the FCC will once again have a sitting chairman and four commissioners.  While acting Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn has moved some items forward while the nominations remain pending, the swearing in of Wheeler and O’Reilly clears the way for FCC action on more substantive, long-term issues, including the television incentive auction proceeding.  The FCC’s plan was to issue a Report & Order in that proceeding by the end of this year.